Monday, April 30, 2018

Maine wildflowers

 

Judy L. Stone
Professor of Biology
Dr. Charles C. and Pamela W. Leighton Research Fellow
Colby College

Sun, May 20, 2pm – 3pm
China Library

37 Main St., China Village

Admission is free; refreshments are served.
 
 

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Jungles! Wild animals! Zip lines!

Talk and pictures by China residents Louisa Barnhart & Michael Klein just home from travels in Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia & Bhutan

Refreshments will be served

Sun, April 22, 2pm – 4pm
37 Main St., China Village

Sunday, April 8, 2018

Ardeana Hamlin

Maine poet and novelist
Author of Pink Chimneys, Abbott’s Reach & The Havener Sisters

Friday, March 23, 2018

Greg Westrich, China area hikes & walks

Are you ready for spring?

Come and hear Greg Westrich author of Maine hiking guides
describe nearby hikes & walks

Sunday March 25, 2 p.m.

Refreshments – free admission – everyone welcome

Saturday, September 16, 2017

Needle Felting with Danielle Bonney

The cute owls that participants made.




Thursday, August 31, 2017

William Ayot



English poet and playwright
How to Live a Deeper Life
“..rich, inspiring and healing poetry…”

Thursday, Sept. 7, 7 p.m.

Free Admission – Refreshments

Friday, August 11, 2017

Come Celebrate the Eclipse!

Saturday, Aug. 12 10 a.m. Anita Smith’s children’s program, Solar Fun (Pre-registration requested – please call 968-2255)

Sunday, Aug. 20 2 p.m. Pre-eclipse presentation: Eclipses in legend, literature and science

Monday, Aug. 21 ECLIPSE DAY Noon through the afternoon, the eclipse on wide screen; 1 p.m., eclipse tea on the library lawn (weather permitting)


And don’t forget the Thursday evening, Sept. 7, poetry reading by William Ayot of Monmouthshire, UK

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Bristle Bots and Horses 101

SATURDAY, JULY 29
A busy day at the library!
10 –11:30 a.m. Anita Smith’s children’s science program, Bristle-Bots (Pre-registration requested – please call 968-2255.)
4 p.m. Horses 101, a horse care primer with The Grand Irishman, aka Eric, & friends (If weather is doubtful, please call 968-2926 after 3 p.m. to ask about cancellation.)

Saturday, June 17, 2017

Children’s Summer Fun Programs at the Albert Church Brown Memorial Library

China Village
Time - 10-11:30am, ages 5-12
Please preregister by calling Anita Smith at 968-2255 or by email at chinaschoolsforest@gmail.com
June 24: Water Olympics –Have fun “competing” with others in our own Water Olympics. Learn about water tension, chromatography, and bubble-ology. Prepare to get wet!
July 8: What’s a Puffin? -Learn about the puffins that live on tiny islands off the coast of Maine. Make your own flying puffin, learn about their food chains and play some “puffin” games.
July 29: Bristle-Bots - Learn about robots and make your own Bristle-Bot. Participate in several Bristle-Bot competitions, including a Bristle-Bot race!
August 12: Solar Fun- Learn about solar energy and get ready for the upcoming solar eclipse. We will make a solar bead keychain or bracelet, make designs with sun sensitive paper and use solar cells to learn about solar energy. There will be a bonus program at the China School’s Forest on Monday, August 21 from 1-3:30pm to watch a real solar eclipse. On the 21st, we will make pin-hole solar viewers, use solar glasses and have fun playing some solar energy games. Stay tuned for more updates on the China School’s Forest Facebook page.

Sunday, May 28, 2017

The Granite Kiss, a history and how-to book about New England stone walls

Kevin Gardner, Author Kevin’s program includes building a miniature wall. Copies of The Granite Kiss will be for sale.
ALBERT CHURCH BROWN MEMORIAL LIBRARY
37 Main Street, China Village
Sunday, June 11
2 p.m.
Refreshments